Scroll


9. Synchronising offline module data

When working with an offline Trainer/Instructor-Led module (you would use this module type as a trainer, when presenting to a group of trainees), you are able to sync your module training progress with the Learning Management System (LMS).

Although you do not need to be connected to the internet to run the Trainer/Instructor-Led training module on your computer, to ensure that you successfully sync your training session progress to the LMS, you must ensure that you:

  • are online and have an active internet connection; and
  • signed in with your LMS account details (the same username and password you use to sign in with).

If you are encountering an Error, please refer to the details below:

The following screenshots illustrate the different stages that you'll see when working online and offline.

Online and fully synchronised

There is a green online status in the bottom-left and a tick indicating that there is no further date to sync.

Sync.png

Not signed in

If you've started the module and have completed some training, but are not signed in, or connected to the internet, you'll see the following. The module is advising that there are training sessions with progress that has not been synced. To sync you must click the 'sign-in' button.  

Sync1.png

Signing in to the module

Clicking the 'sign-in' button prompts you to enter your email address and password. If you have forgotten your details, please view the forgotten password article here.

Sync2.png

Signed in and syncing data

When you have successfully signed in to the module, any un-synced progress data will begin to transfer to the LMS. How long that will take to complete will depend on how long it has been since your last sync and your connection speed. The in-progress sync will look like this (see the sync progress bar at the bottom).

Sync3.png

Sync complete

When the sync completes, you will see the indicator at the bottom, advising that all data has been synchronised with the LMS.

Sync4.png

Offline status

If you do not have an internet connection when you launch the training, you'll see this red 'offline' status in the bottom-left of the module screen. In the example below, the records have all been synced previously, however, you may also see the 'offline' indicator AND the number of records waiting to sync. This would indicate that you need to get online and then sign-in to get all training records up to date. 

Sync5.png

Error Synchronising Data

If you encounter an error when synchronising data, complete the following steps

On a Microsoft Windows Operating System:

  1. Windows key + R to bring up the 'Run' dialog box
  2. Type "%APPDATA%\..\Local\BOLT" (without the quotes) and choose OK
  3. There will be a folder named similarly to "Training Module - 10 - ####"
  4. Right-click on that folder, then choose "Send to" and then "Compressed (zipped) folder"
  5. This will create a new .zip file with the same name as the folder in the same location as the original file. Please be aware, very large files or folders with lots of files may take a while to do this
  6. Send a Support ticket to the Bolt Support Desk and attach the zip file
  7. Once sent, the .zip file and the original folder (that you zipped) should be deleted.
    The application will recreate the folder when you next run the training

On a MacOS Operating System:

  1. Press Command+Shift+G to bring up the 'Go To Folder' dialog box
  2. Type "~/Library/Application Support/" including the ~ and choose OK
  3. There will be a folder named similarly to "Training Module - 10 - ####"
  4. Right-click on that folder, then choose "Compress Training.."
  5. This will create a new .zip file with the same name as the folder in the same location as the original file. Please be aware, very large files or folders with lots of files may take a while to do this
  6. Send a Support ticket to the Bolt Support Desk and attach the zip file
  7. Once sent, the .zip file and the original folder ("Training Module - 10 - ####" that you zipped) should be deleted
    The application will recreate the folder when you next run the training

Now that the data has been cleared, you will not have any further sync issues.

 

 

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments